Battle Report: Defend Alderaan – Warboar, Bromley

I have to admit, I’ve been pretty slack this summer. Not with the playing – I’ve been chucking dice weekly and this is my fourth tournament over the last five weeks. You might even say that I’ve been a slave to the plastic crack, too busy thinking about lists and the mechanics of the game to update my blog.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t feel guilty for not writing up the tournaments.  The droid is most unhappy that I haven’t shared the pictures of his loot. Much like the Cabin Boy on the Scum & Villainy podcast, I have been locked away in the brig; living off of space weavils and the dregs of rum that have slipped through the floorboards. It’s a hard knock life.

I promised him that I would share these with you:

img_0184
This came from the Deal or No Deal tournament at LVL Up, Bournemouth
img_0240
These beauties came from the Summer Kit at iBuyWargames, Woking

The Lost Missions

I didn’t make it to Nationals, I couldn’t quite justify the travel costs, hotel fee and entry (Gots to eat yo!). What I did manage to do was to attend two alternative format tournaments that really did encourage my creative thinking around the game. The first was the Deal or No Deal tournament at LVL Up, Bournemouth where Tom and I paid £50 each for a semi-randomised collection of ships from a particular faction and put them into play. Think about it: you could get a bunch of A-Wings in a Rebel box, but no Autothrusters because those only come in the Autothruster Booster pack (you get a free Star Viper in with that one). You might get a Mist Hunter in a Scum Box but no FCS as these only come with the Tie Phantom or B-Wings.

Qui_Gon_Jinn_(2014_redesign)
Qui Gonn posing as Noel Edmunds

Long story short: I got a Punishing One and a Hound’s Tooth in my box and went two and two for the day. I have drafted version of the write-up but quite honestly, I think the moment has passed. These ships have flown.  In no way did I fly as well as Tom, who went undefeated the entire day (you can read his report here).

 

R4dNiC

 

I digress.

The important reason I have called you here today is because we have received word that the Empire has built a moon sized station with the ability to destroy an entire planet. They call this the Star Deather, er…Murder Planet (I couldn’t well make a joke out of Star Killer), and it is primed and ready to destroy Alderaan.

Who am I kidding? We all know what really happened:

tumblr_nu8fn4PeYW1sl21koo1_500

Tom and I caught wind of another alternative format, the conditions were as follows:

ALL FACTIONS:
– Up to 100pts cap per squad
– No more than 50pts to be spent on a single ship
– No more than 1 ‘Twin Laser Turrets’ allowed in a list
– No more than 2 ‘Crackshot’ Elite Pilot Talents in a list
IMPERIALS:
– No ‘Palpatine’ crew card allowed
SCUM:
– No more than 1 Jumpmaster 5000 in a list
REBELS:
– No ‘R2-D2’ astromech card allowed

Jason and his staff at Warboar work incredibly hard to really make their events fly. There’s a healthy helping of role play that goes along well with atmosphere in store, not to mention the amazing prize support, at one stage someone’s ship was destroyed by the Death Star and they were rewarded with a brand new Tantive IV. Where else have you seen that happen, especially with only a fiver entry fee?

I’m a firm beliver that set boundaries encourage some healthy variety and creativity. I couldn’t go with my Phoenix Squadron or Den-Bot build (no Dengaroo welcome either). I  had been working on a build that really relied on developing some synergy – two words: Attani Mindlink.

I took the following list

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 22.44.57

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 22.42.35

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 22.43.37

Screen Shot 2016-08-31 at 22.47.21

I call this Jumpmaster Flash, it comes in at 100 points.

Recently, Tom and I had been discussing the fundamentals of building a list

I ask myself this one question: How do I beat Soontir?

3555253-baron-soontir-fel
Check his pockets for tokens

Tom had come up with an excellent point, Imperials will often turtle up and the /X7 Defender title doesn’t make it any easier.  If you have a two attack dice ship, let’s call them, I don’t know…er… A-Wings, how do you break through the defences of something that has three agility dice, a focus and an evade token? My answer, a mixture of blocking and ordinance, as well as some Scum shenanigans. Palob steals tokens; Dengar crew helps Manaroo with re-rolls; Feedback Array ensures hits get through, whilst also damaging yourself and the guidance chips help to push the ordinance through. Simple, right?

giphy

Before I go any further, the Death Star was a constant sword of Damocles throughout the day, interupting games and firing at ships. If your ship was hit by the lasers (not rolling an evade from a given number of dice that decreased with each round), your ship would explode and would be down for the game.

Game One – Henry Westcott 69-100 (Loss)

Henry’s List was:

T-65 X-Wing – Wes Janson

  • Veteran Instincts
  • R3-A2
  • Integrated Astromech

T-70 X-Wing – Poe Dameron

  • Push the Limit
  • BB8
  • Autothrusters

Attack Shuttle – Sabine Wren

  • Push the Limit
  • Kanan Jarrus
  • Autoblaster Turret

Henry’s list is an admirable one. I love the repositional aspect of Poe, using both BB8 and PTL (it makes a good change from VI and R5-P9). The Attack Shuttle’s dial wouldn’t normally suit PTL, but the addition of Kanan helps to shift the stress after executing a white manouevre. Wes at PS 10 ensures he’ll often be shooting first. In short, both Poe and Wes could wreak havoc on my ships without me having rolled any red dice.

Henry took out N’Dru in the first round of combat before he even got a chance to fire off the cluster missiles. Having looked at the combined shield and hull of my ships still on the board, I didn’t lose hope, especially not when I used the Plasmas to help Poe’s explosion.

The remainder of the game was incredibly tight, with the Pirate exploding and then the Hawk using the Autoblaster turret at range one to bring Wes down to one hull.

Roo then attacked Sabine, whose green dice blanked out. Pew. Pew. She was gone. Nobody was more surprised than me.

As Jason sounded the klaxon to signal the end of the game we each had one ship left, both Wes and Roo were down to one hull. Henry asked if I would like to squeeze in another round and I reluctantly agreed. Having worked out the maths, I had nothing to lose except perhaps 20 more points of MOV. If Roo somehow survived, it would be 69 – 80. I set up with me attempting to get into range three to maximise the range bonus.

Game Two Daniel Hammond 100-34 (Win)

Daniel’s list was

Tie Defender – Countess Ryad

  • Outmaneuver
  • Twin Ion Engine Mk.II
  • Tie/X7

Tie Defender – Rexler Brath

  • Juke
  • Twin Ion Engine Mk.II
  • Tie/X7

Tie/FO Fighter – Omega Leader

  • Juke
  • Comm Relay

Take a moment and look back at the limitations on the format: no more than two Crack Shots – but what about those pesky Defenders? They’ve come off unscathed here, with the /X7 title out in force. With that brief moan, I really like Daniel’s list. Outmaneuver on Ryad seems like a good idea because of her potential repositional ability and Juke on Brath seems fairly solid.

Ryad was down in the first round of combat after a combination of feedback array and the Revenge Bot but 20 minutes into the game Jason approached our table announcing that the Death Star had fired at my HWK.

I had five evade dice and needed only one evade. No pressure. Just one evade right? The probability of that one hit getting through 5 agility dice with no modifiers is less than 10%. I rolled one evade. Yup.One’s enough.

Daniel caused an explosion for the Pirate, who seemed to act as a good decoy during this game as my remaining ships then focused fire on Brath, leaving only Omega Leader to tackle. After getting her down to one hull, she found herself in range one of Manaroo with me using Feedback array again to kill her and reduce myself to partial points on Roo.

Game Three Lloyd Boman 33-100 (Loss)

Lloyd’s list was:

Tie Defender – Glaive Squadron Pilot

  • Juke
  • Tie/X7

Tie Defender – Countess Ryad

  • Juke
  • Tie/X7

Tie Interceptor – Carnor Jax

  • Push the Limit
  • Royal Guard Title
  • Twin Ion Engine Mk.II
  • Autothrusters

I’ve spoken to Lloyd at tournaments a few times and he is well known for his double Ghost list, although he wasn’t playing that today. He’s a thoroughly nice man, which makes it even harder as he smiles while throwing dice at you.

He killed the Pirate first and then I managed to use both fire and Feedback Array to kill Ryad.

This game was really tense and, again, it came down to having each of our ships on only a few hull points (his were on one more hull than mine, Grrrr Boman!)

N’Dru managed to survive an amazing bout of attacks but eventually Lloyd got through the hit that he needed and I was left with only Roo on the board whilst Carnor and the Glaive Squadron Pilot each ahd two hull left. Roo pulled the Major Hull Breach Crit at just the right time, with only one hull left it didn’t really matter. Lloyd flew better and he knew his list better. There were points where I forgot the Revenege Bot and Guidance Chips. Silly Boy. A pleasure playing against Lloyd (I’ll get you next time).

Things weren’t looking good for the Pirate.

Game Four Tom Clements 100-67 (Win)

Tom’s list was:

Aggressor – IG88-B

  • Ion Cannon
  • Mangler Cannon
  • Fire Control Systems
  • Autothrusters
  • IG-2000 title
  • Glitterstim

Aggressor – IG88-D

  • Ion Cannon
  • Mangler Cannon
  • Fire Control Systems
  • Autothrusters
  • IG-2000 title
  • Glitterstim

I didn’t bring a standard Bro-Bot list to a friendly tournament because I didn’t want to be That Guy.

You’re right Tom, I know all about being That Guy.

I often enjoy the last game of a tournament the most, it can be the most fun and the most challenging. This was no exception.

By Game Four, the battle had got even closer to the Death Star and if it fired at your ship, you would be given only three green dice to roll an evade. It hadn’t yet destroyed a ship through the day so Lord Vader had decreed that the attacks would increase to one every 10 minutes. The table next to ours was called upon to be attacked before they had even finished deploying their ships. Brown trousers all around.

It was in this round that somebody lost their Mist Hunter, only to be rewarded with a Tantive IV for their troubles. How awesome is that?

Back to the game: it was R5-P8 that really clinched the game. I knew the Bro-Bots would be a tough match but when I saw that Tom had only brought small obstacles with him, I thought I mgt be in with a chance.

Again, the Pirate served as fodder whilst Palob got in close and stole tokens which then rewarded the other members of the list thanks to Attani Mindlink.

N’Dru did manage to fire his Clusters, which made short work of IG-88D. Manaroo couldn’t quite get into the right range to deploy the Plasmas.

IG-88B spent a fair amount of time with one hull left whilst Manaroo couldn’t quite get into the correct range to get off the Plasma Torps. This meant keeping her facing 88B Inman attempt to stop Autothrusters kicking in. Eventually, 88B pushed a Blinded Pilot crit through to Roo, halting attacks, but not the Revenge Bot. This was the final shot needed. A really tense game for all involved. Awesome.

Blinded Pilot

1fjFbr

Moments before I used R5 -P8 to secure my victory in game four, something even bigger was happening in the trenches of the Death Star; Biggs Darklighter (James Dowdall of the 186th Squadron) fired a lone attack dice at the Death Star and caused a monumental explosion that would really piss off Lord Vader.

Well done that man!

A further digression. I finished 14th with a new list; I’m fairly happy with two and two. Would I keep the list? Certainly, perhaps with some refinement. Maybe there’s a Fenn Rau shaped hole in it waiting for the boat for Wave 9 to come in.

My biggest consideration for now, is what to do with N’Dru. Dead Eye? Lone Wolf? If I went for the latter of the two, what would I drop?

The Attani Mindlink combined with Roo and Paylob’s abilities is a win. Some might go with Unhinged Astromech and K4 Security Droid, using Dengar crew saves a point. What about dropping Dengar for Zuckass and taking the R4 Agromech or the Overclocked R4? Whilst Mindlink gets around the need for an action at times, therefore mitigating possible problems caused by Zuckass crew, I’m reluctant to drop the Revenge Bot. Like Feedback Array, it will often help to push through some damage in an Aces heavy meta.

It is by no means a perfect list, but it is one I enjoy playing, and I’m pleased that I haven’t come across much else like it. Massave thanks to Tom for helping me refine it.

A huge thank you, as always, to Jason and his team for a tournament that thoroughly made my bank holiday. Nice work.

I have no clue what he does with his loot.
2 thoughts on “Battle Report: Defend Alderaan – Warboar, Bromley”

Leave a Reply

